Posted in Travel

Misadventures On The Way To Guimaras

I was assigned for an official business trip to Ilo-ilo and Bacolod. I’ve been there the previous year so I’m thinking of having side trip on the weekend, prior to my scheduled date of work, to nearby town or province like Capiz or Antique. Going to these places requires long hours of travel and I only have 2 days and one night prior.

I looked into the map (like Dora The Explorer) and seek the help of google, travel apps, and more, until I thought of going to Guimaras. The island is just 15 minutes away from Ilo-ilo City via boat and the fare is Php14 only.

So I arranged my schedule, planning for a tour in Guimaras and stay overnight in a resort.

The day has come. I woke-up at around 3am for my 5:40am flight. I felt hyper-active even though I only had 3 hours of sleep. I imagined myself jumping off the plane in Iloilo City welcomed by the morning sun.

As I arrived into the airport around 5am, I checked-in thru the kiosk but it wasn’t successful. I went to the counter instead. But upon checking by the in-charge, there is something wrong on the booking, it was not confirmed and it is equivalent to NO TICKET!

So I went to the airline office and have them check my booking. It was settled by the airline and so I was supposedly allowed to board on the 5:40am flight but unfortunately, it’s too late. The plane is closed and preparing for take-off.

I was rebooked to next flight which is 12:50pm.

Oohh! it was heartbreaking. My 7 hours was just wasted to waiting.

Anyways, after 7 hours of waiting at last I’m boarding – feeling exhausted though.

I arrived in Iloilo City Airport at around 2pm. It was a gloomy afternoon in Iloilo.

I went to the Public Utility Vehicle Terminal and rode into a UV Express Van bound to SM Iloilo (Fare is Php50). From there, rode a jeepney going to Ortiz Wharf (Fare is Php7).

From Ortiz Wharf, purchase a ticket going to Jordan Wharf (Php14). Wrote my name on the passengers’ list then proceed to the boat’s boarding area.

On my way to the boarding area, I was like – Oh the waves! It’s splashing on the walls of the wharf. Seeing the boat, it doesn’t have Iife vests on it and I don’t know how to swim!

But fear doesn’t bother me anyway! I did go on…

After approximately 15 minutes, I set foot on this little town, Guimaras.

I went to the Tourism Office for registration, asked for some directions and guides on the tour. Since it’s around 3pm already, I can’t proceed with the standard land tour, so I went to the resort directly (pre-booked via Agoda.com).   I booked in Czech Beach Resort, in Igdarapdap, Nueva Valencia. There are available UV Express Van in Jordan Wharf that go directly to Nueava Valencia. Travel time is approximately 35 minutes. I was the last passenger so the driver and his assistant dropped me off on the resort’s gate. It’s about 2 minute walk from the hi-way. They’re very kind when they knew it was my first time to go in the resort and don’t exactly know where it is.

I was welcomed by the resorts staff and introduced me to the owner – Libor. Now, I get it why the resort’s name is Czech. The resort is owned by a couple from Czechoslovakia, they’re very kind and accommodating. They transferred me into a better room since the guests who booked the room, shorten there stay due to work-related issues. The room is wide with overlooking view.

The resort was awesome. I would probably recommend the resort. The ambiance is very relaxing, tranquil, away from the noise of the city.

IMG20170520175647
afternoon view
IMG20170521055745
morning view

My disappointment on the changed flight and arriving in the island too late just vanished. I would probably would like to come back in this place.

One of the low points on this place was having power interruptions. That night, no electricity and because of that, me and the french couple Veronica & Rocco dine together on the nipa hut cottage. We had pasta for dinner cooked by the owner, Libor. It’s an experience for me to had a fun conversation with European people. The couple is from Causica.

The following morning, a sumptuous breakfast was served, Tuna Salsa.

IMG20170521083001

During our conversation with the owner, I learned that it’s Manggahan Festival and a grand celebration will be happening on this day. He suggested that instead of going to The Pitstop Restaurant for lunch, better go to the trade fare. There you can see everything the province offers.

At around 11am, I checked-out on the resort and waited for a van on the hi-way. The van rarely comes to the place and so I waited around 30 minutes. On my way back to Jordan, I see vast mango plantations. No doubt, the province is the Mango Capital of the Philippines. Upon arrival in Jordan, unfortunately, the vehicles need to take detours as the street activity already started. So I wasn’t able to drop by on the trade fare, instead, we had a stop on the mango and delicacies’ stall along the road.

IMG20170521205716

Then we proceed to Jordan Wharf and went back to Iloilo City.

Misadventure came too early. The plan may have went wrong but it doesn’t stop me to enjoy, have fun, and learn.

See you next time Guimaras! …I’ll have the land and island hopping tour on my return!

IMG20170520175907

Hoping for more travels and crazy adventures!😉

Author:

An industrial engineer by profession working on a day job, advocate of Global Financial Literacy, a gypsy soul who fearlessly wanders and explore, want to experience the life on the different places - it's nature's wonders, amazing heritage sites, food, unique cultures and tradition. I want to make the world My HOME!

Leave a Reply

